BRIEF BACKGROUND ON THE CZECH AND SLOVAK MEMBER SOCIETY OF ISSMGE

The Czech and Slovak Committee for Soil Mechanics and Foundation Engineering (since 2011 Czech and Slovak Society for Soil Mechanics and Geotechnical Engineering) was established on the 13 January 1959. Since then the original number of 25 members has increased up to present 47. The domestic role of the Committee has been supported by the Czechoslovak Academy of Sciences (later the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic) since the very beginning. On the international level, its representative took part at the Council Meeting for the first time in Paris, 1961.

The past presidents: Alois Myslivec, Zdeněk Kysela, Jaroslav Feda, Ivan Vaníček

The past secretaries: Jaroslav Feda, Zdeněk Kysela, Jan Boháč, Ivo Herle, Jan Zalesky

The Society organized the following major international conferences:

- 1969 (Prague) New advances in soil mechanics (during this conference a plaque dedicated to Karl Terzaghi was unveiled on the house where Terzaghi was born, see Géotechnique 20)
- 1975 (Bratislava) Danube-European Conference on Soil Mechanics and Foundation Engineering
- 1994 (Stará Lesná) 8th European Young Geotechnical Engineers Conference
- 2003 (Prague) 13th European Conference on Soil Mechanics and Geotechnical Engineering (more on the Society website)
- 2010 (Bratislava) 14th Danube-European Conference on Geotechnical Engineering (more on the Society website)
- 2010 (Brno) 20th European Young Geotechnical Engineers Conference (more on the Society web site)

The Society takes part in the organization of International Geotechnical Conferences being held every two years in Bratislava and co-organizes Prague Geotechnical Days every year (since 1993). Starting in 1992, Prague Geotechnical Lecture is organized every year by the Society. The lecture is delivered by a prominent geotechnical specialists chosen from all over the world (the first lecturers were M. Jamiolkowski, J. Biarez, J. B. Burland, J. K. Mitchell, H. Brandl, J. Feda, F. Schlosser, A. Gens). A complete list of Prague Geotechnical Lecturers can be found here.

The Society has appointed honorary members - professors Zdeněk Bažant, Vojtěch Mencl and Alois Myslivec.

Members of the Society are active in many Technical Committees of ISSMGE and several members participated as chairmen and/or general reporters at international conferences organized by ISSMGE (e.g. Z. Bažant, J. Feda, V. Mencl).